Burgandy McCurty Named MAAC Volleyball Offensive Player of the Year

Nov. 17, 2007

Burgandy McCurty has been named the 2007 MAAC Offensive Player of the Year by the league's head coaches, it was announced by the MAAC office late Saturday night. Nadiege Honore and Aubrey Bobo were named to the MAAC Second Team.

McCurty led the conference with a .435 hitting percentage and averaged 3.78 kills per game. She also finished third in the MAAC in blocks with an average of 1.10 per game. McCurty is sixth nationally in hitting percentage and on pace to demolish the school's all-time mark She was named MAAC Rookie of the Year last year.

Freshman Aubrey Bobo was named to the MAAC Second Team. Bobo was named MAAC Rookie of the week three times and MAAC Offensive Player of the Week twice. She was also named ECAC co-Player of the Week. Bobo averaged 3.76 kills and posted a .290 hitting percentage from the outside. She had eight double-doubles and averaged 2.49 digs per game.

Loyola College's Nina Camaioni earned MAAC Rookie of the Year honors. She averaged 3.49 digs per game, eighth best in the conference, and 4.04 digs per game, the seventh highest total in the league. Camaioni was chosen as MAAC Rookie of the Week four times.

Honore was named to the MAAC Second Team despite averaging 4.16 kills per game - the highest single-season total in school history and the second best total in the league this year. Honore is second all-time at Siena with 1,416 kills and needs just 50 to tie the all-time mark.

Canisius College's Jess Stackhouse and Iona College's Allison Nieters were selected as co-Defensive Players of the Year. Stackhouse, who is a three time winner of the award, finished second in the league with 5.85 digs per game. She was chosen as a MAAC Defensive Player of the Week five times in 2007. Nieters led the MAAC in digs with an average of 6.86 per game. She was a two time MAAC Defensive Player of the Week selection. Fairfield University's Barbie Thistle and Loyola College's Chrissey Cruz were chosen as co-Setters of the Year . Thistle, the 2006 MAAC Setter of the Year, was third in the conference with 11.04 assists per game. Cruz was second in the MAAC with 11.14 assists per game.



The All-MAAC First Team consisted of McCurty, Thistle, Cruz, Fairfield University's Katie Mann and Kelly Oliver, and Niagara University's Raelean Rush. Stackhouse, Nieters, Camaioni, Iona College's Sarah Weiner, Loyola College's Karlee Woodward, Marist College's Alexandra Schultze, and Siena College's Aubrey Bobo and Nadiege Honore made up the Second Team.

Fairfield University head coach Jeff Werneke was selected as the 2007 Anaconda Sports MAAC Coach of the Year. Werneke, who also won the award in 2006, led the Stags to a share of the MAAC Regular Season Championship with a 17-1 conference record (20-10 overall).

Werneke's Stags were the league's choice to win the title this season and finished tied for first with Siena. The Saints were the coaches' choice to finish second.

Siena head coach Garvey Pierre has led Siena to three straight 20-win seasons after inheriting a program that finished in the bottom three of the league three straight years. The Saints have won the MAAC title each of the last two seasons and advanced to the NCAA Tournament. Pierre's Saints were picked last by every other coach in the league in 2005 and won the title. He has never been named MAAC Coach of the Year. The Saints are the #1 seed in this year's Tournament and face #4 seed Iona in Sunday's seminfinal at 2 p.m.