Women's Tennis
Break Point with Mitsuki (Suki) Fukamachi
Suki Fukamachi
 
Suki Fukamachi
 

Dec. 3, 2013

What is your favorite thing about playing tennis at Siena?
The family aspect of the team. It's always a good feeling when you have a team who will always back you up.

What have you had to get used to most since coming to Siena?
Time management and doing everything yourself... including laundry.

What was it like the first few weeks at school?
Exciting and nerve-racking at the same time.

What have you learned about yourself since you became a student at Siena College?
I'm more independent than I thought I was.

What is a typical day like for you at Siena?
I usually have most of my classes in the morning, then I have practice, eat, do homework, and sleep.

What has been the biggest adjustment from high school to college tennis?
The level of play is much higher in college than high school.

Please use three words to describe Siena College?
Home, safe, and spirited

What is your favorite class at Siena so far?
My chemistry lab.

How do you kill time while in Loudonville?
Eating at saga, making a ruckus with Ali (Garrity), studying at the library, and sleeping.

If you were an animal, what would you be and why?
A penguin because they are so adorable.

List five things you would need to survive, if left alone on a deserted island?
Goldfish, my phone, Netflix, watermelon sour patch kids, and maybe a knife just in case.

Which is your favorite tourist spot?
Australia.

Which is your favorite spot on campus?
Saga (Serra Hall) for sure.

Where do you see yourself in another five years - Life after Siena College?
I see myself graduating from Siena and pursing post-graduate studies somewhere in New York.

Did you always think you would play tennis? What other sports did you play?
No I did not see myself playing tennis. I was a dancer from when I was 3 until I was 13 and didn't pick up a racquet until the age of 10. I hated it at first but the competition aspect of the game was introduced to me and from then on tennis was the sport for me.

 

 

What is something that Siena Saints fans should know about your style of play?
My cross court forehand puts me on offense but my defensive play can help reset the points when I need it to.

If you could have dinner with four people (alive or dead) they would be?
My grandma, Novak Djokovic, Ryan Gosling, and Steph Schmitt

If you could change one thing on planet earth what would it be?
Flying from one place to another would be cheaper and faster.

What do you miss most about Ohio?
I miss my family, friends, and the tennis community that I grew up with.

Do you have any role models?
My mom would be my role model because she always puts family first before anyone else.

Women's Tennis Home

  Printer-friendly format   Email this article