Mayer Leads Charge on First Day of Siena Women's Tennis Invitational

Sept. 29, 2007

Sarah Mayer won both of her singles matches in the A-Flight of the inaugural Siena women's tennis Invitational Saturday afternoon. The matches were contested on the Siena campus and at nearby Shaker High School.

Siena, Providence and Holy Cross competed in the two-day event which will conclude tomorrow.

Mayer defeated Avery Gibson of Providence 6-1 and 6-1 in her first match and later topped Jen Cusak of Providence 6-0 and 6-0.

Ferrara also won an A-Flight contest, defeating teammate Lauren Moy 8-1.

Asselin was victorious in a B-Flight match with teammate Lauren Garbade, while Keric earned an exciting 9-8 win in the D-Flight against Kate Danaher.

Sarah Mayer(SIE) def Avery Gibson(PC) 6-1,6-1
Meg Moran(HC) def Jen Cusack(PC) 7-6,5-7,10-5
Kristen Meahl(HC) def Jessica Ferrara(SIE) 7-5,6-4
Kate Lyons(PC) def Lauren Moy(SIE) 5-7,6-2,10-8
Sarah Mayer(SIE) def Jen Cusack(PC) 6-0,6-0
Kate Lyons(PC) def Kristen Meahl(HC) 6-2,6-3
Avery Gibson(PC) def Meg Moran(HC) 8-2
Jessica Ferrara(SIE) def Lauren Moy(SIE) 8-1

Ivette Konopka(HC) def Jen Messing(SIE) 6-0,6-1
Ayushi Sinha(PC) def Paige Brown(HC) 7-6(4),6-0
Hailee Lange(HC) def Lauren Garbade(SIE) 6-2,6-3
Dara Hawkins-Hodgson(PC) def Jessica Asselin(SIE) 7-5,1-6,10-4
Ivette Konopka(HC) def Ayushi Sinha(PC) 6-4,6-1
Hailee Lange(HC) def Dara HAWKINS-HOGSON(PC) 6-2,6-1
Paige Brown(HC) def Jen Messing(SIE) 8-3
Jessica Asselin(SIE) def Lauren Garbade(SIE) 8-3

Jill O'Keefe(PC) def Dinka Keric(SIE) 6-1,7-5
Amy McDevitt(PC) def Chase Fitzsimmons(HC) 6-2,3-6,11-9
Megan Manahan(HC) def Bridget Finnerty(SIE) 6-2,6-1
Kathryn Wilkie(HC) def Kim Betzner(PC) 3-6,6-2,10-6
Amy McDevitt(PC) def Jill O'Keefe(PC) Def(inj)
Kathryn Wilkie(HC) def Megan Manahan(HC) 6-2,6-2



Dinka Keric(SIE) def Kate Danaher(PC) 9-8
Erin Kenaga(PC0) def Chase Fitzsimmons(HC) 8-2

Mayer/Moy(SIE) def Konopka/Megahan(HC) 8-2
Sinha/McDevitt(PC) def Garbade/Messing(SIE) 8-3
Gibson/Hawkins-Hodgson(PC) def Brown/Lange(HC) 8-5
Meahl/Moran(HC) def Ferrara/Asselin(SIE) 8-5
Danaher/Kenaga(PC) def Keric/Finnerty(SIE) 8-5