Siena Women Swim to Fourth Place Finish in MAAC Championships

Feb. 22, 2004

Complete Results

Sophomore Dana Golino and freshmen Jessica Shada and Ashlkey Serrage paced Siena's fourth place finish in the MAAC women's swimming and diving championships this weekend in Baltimore, Maryland. Golino captured the 100-yard backstroke and finished second in the 200, in gaining 17 of Siena's 354.5 points in the meet.

The Rider men's and Marist women's swimming and diving teams claimed the league titles.

The Rider men won their first ever MAAC crown with a total of 877 points, while Marist registered 868 points for second place. Loyola came in third with 502 points, followed by Iona (443), Fairfield (371), Niagara (243), Saint Peter's (202) and Canisius (96).

On the women's side, Marist earned its sixth conference crown as the Red Foxes tallied 820.50 points, while Rider finished in second place (741). Loyola came in third with 561 points, followed by Siena (354.50), Fairfield and Iona (345), Niagara (231), Canisius (154), Manhattan (113) and Saint Peter's (106).

Two MAAC records were reset during the meet. Marist's Lauren Malski recorded a new time in the women's 200 yard breaststroke with a time of 2:20.66. Loyola's Marko Turcinov recorded a new time in the men's 200 yard butterfly with 1:50.13.

Golino touched first in the 100-yard backstroke in 59:70, finishing as the only swimmer under 1-minute. Shada a freshman diver, placed fourth on the 3M springboard and Serrago ended 4th in the 100-yard freestyle. Other top Siena finishers included sophomore Kaitlin Krause who ended in seventh place in the 200-yard breaststroke.

Emily Heslin of Marist College and Lauren Urbanski of Rider University were named the MAAC Co-Women's Most Outstanding Swimmers, while Marist's Amber VanDeCarr was named the MAAC Women's Most Outstanding Diver. The MAAC Men's Most Outstanding Diver was Chris Coles of Rider University, and the MAAC Men's Most Outstanding Swimmer was Marko Turcinov of Loyola College. Larry Van Wagner of Marist was named the Women's Coach of the Year, and Stephen Fletcher of Rider was named the Men's Coach of the Year.