Women's Basketball

Charlieann Chacon   24
Charlieann Chacon

Class:
Senior

Hometown:
Phoenix, Ariz.

High School:
Deer Valley

Last College:
Mesa Community College (Ariz.)

Height:
5-6

Position:
Guard

Birthdate:
08/17/1987


AS A JUNIOR: Appeared in 22 games...Averaged 1.8 points, 1.8 rebounds and 1.5 assists in 10.7 minutes/game...Shot 75% (6-8) from the free throw line...Scored season-high 11 points on 4-of-4 from the field and 3-of-3 from 3, grabbed four rebounds and dished out five assists at Oakland (11/26/08).

AS A SOPHOMORE (Mesa CC): Named Preseason All-American and Region I Tournament MVP...Selected to First Team All-Region and Second Team All-ACCAC (Arizona Community College Athletic Conference)...Averaged 11.1 points, 5.6 rebounds, 4.8 assists and 2.7 steals per game...Her 155 assists broke the previous single-season record.

AS A FRESHMAN (Mesa CC): Named Third Team All-ACCAC after averaging 10.7 points, 4.4 rebounds, 3.7 assists and 3.4 steals per game.

BEFORE SIENA: Started both years at Mesa CC as point guard...Started four years at guard in high school.

PERSONAL: Junior transfer from Mesa Community College (Arizona)...Born August 17, 1987...Daughter of Carlos and Dolores Chacon...Has an older sister Erlinda and two younger sisters, Sabrina who attends Glendale Community College and Bryanna.

The Charlieann Chacon File

Nickname: Char

Favorite professional sports team: Phoenix Mercury, Phoenix Suns

Favorite TV show: Dexter, Grey's Anatomy, Alias

Favorite TV show growing up: Fresh Prince of Bel-Air, The Cosby Show

Favorite animal: Monkey

Favorite movie: Love & Basketball

Another sport I like to follow at Siena is: All of them

The funniest person on the team is: Allie

My proudest sports moment is: Winning my high school and Juco Championship

If I wasn't playing basketball I would be: A regular college student somewhere in Arizona

If I could travel anywhere, I would go to: Everywhere

Three words to describe me are: Ambitious, loyal, passionate

One thing I wish people knew about me: I have two cats named Kitty and Mufasa and I rescued them both.

I chose number 24 because: When I went to Mesa Community College my jersey number 20 was taken. I was a little upset about it and my coach told me to have 24 because that was her jersey number when she played.

My superstitions are: Making sure everything is an even number or amount.

My favorite class at Siena is: Basic Design & Drawing

My favorite thing about Siena is: The people, everyone is so caring and warm

Career plans: I would definitely like to play overseas. After that I would like to get a masters degree in animal behavior and become an Animal Rescuer. I would also love to coach basketball in my future.

Career Highs - Points: 11 at Oakland (11/26/08) FG: 4 (twice) FGA: 7 vs. James Madison (12/30/08) 3FG: 3 at Oakland (11/26/08) 3FGA: 3 at Oakland (11/26/08) Rebounds: 5 vs. Iona (1/16/09) Blocks: 1 (twice) Assists: 5 vs. James Madison (12/30/08) & at Oakland (11/26/08) Steals: 3 vs. Iona (1/16/09) Minutes: 21 (three times)

CHACON'S CAREER STATS

year g/gs fg fga fg% 3fg 3fga 3fg% ft fta ft% pts avg reb avg pf/dq ast blk to stl min
08-09 22/0 13 51 .255 7 21 .333 6 8 .750 39 1.8 40 1.8 25/0 34 2 32 18 236
Totals 22/0 13 51 .255 7 21 .333 6 8 .750 39 1.8 40 1.8 25/0 34 2 32 18 236
Women's Basketball Home

  Printer-friendly format   Email this article