Martinsen Named to Tewaaraton Award Watch List

Danny Martinsen

Feb. 22, 2013

LOUDONVILLE, N.Y. - Siena Lacrosse senior captain Danny Martinsen is under consideration for the nation's preeminent collegiate lacrosse award. The Smithtown, N.Y. native has been named to the Tewaaraton Award Watch List.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committee is made up of top collegiate coaches and is appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation. The committee will make additions to these lists as the season progresses.

The list will be narrowed to 25 candidates in late April and in mid-May five finalists will be announced. These finalists will be invited to Washington, D.C. for the 13th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony, May 30 at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian.

A senior captain and attackman for the Saints, Martinsen is the MAAC Preseason Player of the Year and earlier this week was named one of just 20 candidates nationally for the prestigious Senior CLASS Award.

A First Team All-MAAC and All-MAAC Tournament Team selection last season, as a junior Martinsen ranked second in the MAAC in both scoring (62) and assists (29) and was tied for fourth in goals. A two-time MAAC Offensive Player of the Week, he ranked 14th nationally in points per game (3.88) and 17th in assists (1.81).

Martinsen and the Saints return to action Saturday when they host Binghamton at 1 p.m. at Siena Turf Field.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Award or to attend this exciting event, visit Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at and

First presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy - the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora - and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, visit