Three Saints Named to MAAC 25th Anniversary Men's Basketball Team

Jan. 27, 2006

Guards Marc Brown '91, Doremus Bennerman '94 and Marcus Faison '00 were all named to the MAAC 25th anniversary men's basketball team. In honor of the conference's 25 years in existence, 25 players are represented on the silver anniversary squad. Ten members were named the 1980s team, 10 were named to the 1990s squad and five players rounded out the 2000-present team.

Among the current member institutions of the league, Iona College, Saint Peter's College and Siena College each had three players named to the teams. Canisius College, Fairfield University, Manhattan College and Niagara University each had two players earn a spot on the squads. Loyola College and Rider University also added one player apiece. Former members of the MAAC are also represented on the teams, including La Salle University (4), Fordham University (1) and the U.S. Military Academy (1).

Brown had already hit his stride as a college hoops star when the Saints entered the MAAC prior to the 1989-90 season. He had, just the season before, delivered a 32-point performance in Siena's NCAA opening round upset win over Stanford in Greensboro, N.C. He remains Siena's all-time leading scorer with 2,284 career points. He also reigns as the Saint's top playmaker with 796 assists during his 123-game career. His two-year MAAC career was a memorable one, earning First Team All-MAAC twice, including MAAC Player of the Year kudos in 1991 after averaging 23.3 points and 5.1 assists per game.

Bennerman was one of the most prolific scorers in MAAC history. Between 1990 and 1994, Bennerman netted 2,109 points and handed-out 577 assists in 125 games. He was named the 1994 MAAC Player of the Year, averaging 26.0 points and 5.5 assists as a senior. During that same season, he guided the Saints to the semifinals of the National Invitation Tournament at Madison Square Garden. While in NYC, Bennerman established a new NIT scoring mark by dropping 51 points on Kansas State. For his efforts, he earned NIT MVP honors. He was a three-time All-MAAC selection.

Faison was a key player during Siena's run of success in the late 1990s. Starring for the Saints from 1996 through 2000, Faison helped the Saints to three straight MAAC Championship games and two consecutive postseason trips (NCAA in 1999 and NIT in 2000). In 1999, he was the top player on Siena's 25-6, NCAA squad. In 1999-2000, he helped Siena to a 24-9 ledger and the NIT's second round. He earned three First Team All-MAAC honors and was the MVP of the 1999 MAAC Tournament. He scored 1,697 points during his Siena career, third in school history.

MAAC 25th Anniversary Men's Basketball Teams

Joe Paterno, Fordham University (1984-1989)
Steve Burtt, Iona College (1980-1984)
Gary Springer, Iona College (1980-1984)
Tim Legler, La Salle University (1984-1988)
Doug Overton, La Salle University (1987-1991)
Lionel Simmons, La Salle University (1986-1990)
Shelton Gibbs, Saint Peter's College (1981-1985)
Willie Haynes, Saint Peter's College (1985-1989)
Marc Brown, Siena College (1987-1991)
Kevin Houston, U.S. Military Academy (1983-1987)

Micheal Meeks, Canisius College (1992-1996)
Craig Wise, Canisius College (1991-1995)
Darren Philip, Fairfield University (1996-2000)
Tariq Kirksay, Iona College (1996-2000)
Randy Woods, La Salle University (1989-1992)
Mike Powell, Loyola College (1994-1998)
Keith Bullock, Manhattan College (1989-1993)
Alvin Young, Niagara University (1995-1999)
Doremus Bennerman, Siena College (1990-1994)
Marcus Faison, Siena College (1996-2000)

Deng Gai, Fairfield University (2001-2005)
Luis Flores, Manhattan College (2001-2004)
Juan Mendez, Niagara University (2001-2005)
Jerry Johnson, Rider University (2001-2005)
Keydren Clark, Saint Peter's College (2002-2006)