Paolini Named to ABCA Northeast Region Second Team

June 28, 2010

Dan Paolini (Stratford, Conn./Bunnell) has been named to the American Baseball Coaches' Association (ABCA) Northeast Region Second Team. Paolini, who is participating in the inaugural College Baseball Home Run Derby July 7 in Omaha, set a MAAC record with 26 home runs this past season.

Paolini was recently named the first Division I All-American in Siena baseball history by Collegiate Baseball. The MAAC Player of the Year did not earn recognition on any of the three ABCA All-American teams. Canisius' Steve McQuail, a Second Team All-MAAC selection at third base, was selected to the ABCA Northeast First Team at second base and named an ABCA Third Team All-American.

Paolini crushed the program mark of 15 home runs set 25 years ago by Steve Borg (1985). He led nation in home runs per game (.47).

Paolini, last season's MAAC Rookie of the Year, posted a .368 batting average (78-212) during his second season for the Saints. He also registered a league-best .816 slugging percentage while setting a school-record with 62 runs scored and 64 RBI. He stole 12 bases in just 15 attempts on the season, and made just four errors in 264 chances (.985) at second base.

Paolini ranked among the nation's leaders with four multi-home run games. Paolini had 20 multi-hit games and 14 multi-RBI games this season, including three games in which he drove ion at least five runs.

In addition to his selection as a Second Team All-American by Collegiate Baseball, Paolini was recently named an ECAC First Team All-Star.

Paolini is playing for the Chatham A's in the prestigious Cape Cod League this summer. Kevin Mailloux of Canisius was named a Third-Team All-American by the ABCA in 2008. The 2010 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Division I All-Americans will be announced during the College World Series.

The inaugural TD AMERITRADE College Home Run Derby at Omaha's Rosenblatt Stadium on Wednesday, July 7 at 8:30 p.m. EDT. CBS will air the event nationwide on Sunday, July 11 from 1:00-2:00 p.m. EDT.