Rooney Named Second Team All-MAAC

Second Team All-MAAC selection John Rooney

May 23, 2012

TROY, N.Y. - Siena right fielder John Rooney was named to the All-MAAC Second Team at the conference's annual baseball awards banquet Wednesday evening at Joe Bruno Stadium. Additionally, the Saints had six players named to the MAAC All-Academic Team.

Rooney led the Saints with a .316 average and 61 hits this season while tying for the team lead with 10 doubles. The Syracuse, N.Y. native played in and started 54 of the Saints' 55 games and added 27 RBI while going a perfect 9-for-9 in stolen base attempts.

Iona's Chris Burke was named the MAAC Player of the Year, with Rider's Mike Murphy earning MAAC Pitcher of the Year and first-year Fairfield coach Bill Currier was the Anaconda Sports MAAC Coach of the Year. Canisius captured the conference's other two major individual awards with Jon Fitzsimmons being named the MAAC Relief Pitcher of the Year and Devon Stewart as the Rookie of the Year.

Senior hurlers Ryan Poplawski (3.29 - Marketing) and Nicco Stento (3.55 - Finance) highlighted the Saints' MAAC All-Academic Team honorees. Additional honorees included junior Larry Balkwill (3.41 - History) and sophomores Neil Fryer (3.51 - Undecided Business), Ken Kirshner (3.46 - Undecided Arts) and Mike Williams (3.40 - Undecided Business).

Siena recently concluded the 2012 season with an 18-37 overall record including an 8-16 mark in the MAAC. The Saints will serve as the host of this weekend's MAAC Championships here at Joe Bruno Stadium which commence Thursday afternoon.