Men Fifth, Women Seventh At MAAC Indoor Championship

Feb. 18, 2018

Final Stats |  Photo Gallery 

Siena Men's Track finished fifth while the Women's Track team took seventh. The men's finish is the best finish in program history following two 8th place finishes in their first two seasons while the women's finish ties their best which they completed last season.

"It was a great weekend for both the men and women," said head coach John Kenworthy. "The men's fifth place team finish was certainly satisfying after being picked last in the coaches poll. We're young and returning many scorers on both sides so I'm excited to continue building on these finishes in outdoor track and in future years!"

After qualifying for the 800m finals on Saturday, Evans Kibet and Luciano Fiore took on the event. Fiore took the bronze medal in the race with a 1:53.24 finish. Kibet was just behind him winding up in fourth place with a time of 1:53.53.

Sarah Forman, who looked to defend her title, was seeded third in the 3000m. Forman took the bronze in the event with a time of 9:50.60, which qualified her for the ECAC Championship. Shannon Bauer took third in her heat and 14th overall with a 10:17.15 finish. Freshman Regina Rosati blasted her personal best with a 10:17.59 time, which was good for 15th overall and fourth in her heat. Carolyn Pellegrini finished in 10:19.30 for over a 10-second PR.

Jack O'Hara set a huge personal record in the 3000m finals with his sixth place finish time of 8:29.73, which is just off an IC4A qualifying time. Stosh Davis also set a personal best time when he took ninth in the final at 8:32.29. Travis Fairlee and William Randall came in at respective times of 8:42.29 and 8:42.79.

Abbi Wright, Meghan McDonough, Mary McNally and Carissa Kahn finished sixth in the 4x400m relay with a time of 4:28.52. Grant Norton Daniel Medici, Chris Estremera, and Michael Carroll took seventh place with a 3:42.20 time.

Both the men's and women's teams took seventh in the 4x800m. The men's group of Jacob Greski, Ryan Holland, Matt Jacques and Michael Stoker finished in 8:03.12. The women's team of Monica Strain, Jaimie Polanco, Holly Bednarek and Morgan Serkes finished in 9:40.26.

Siena will compete in the ECAC/IC4A Championship on Saturday, March 3.