Athletics News

Nine Inducted Into Siena Hall of Fame

Nov. 8, 2011

Nine of Siena's finest-ever student athletes got the call from the school's Athletic Hall of Fame to comprise the institution's class of 2011. The group is the largest ever honored by the College, and they were enshrined in a ceremony on December 3, 2011.

The class includes Katy Sturgis Robinson '83, Hank Wysocki, Dwayne Archbold '02, Gunta Basko '03, Nicole Mayer '03, Liene Jansone '04, Robert Bigley '06, Noel Cox '06, and John Lannan '06. The members of the group will take their places alongside Siena's most elite athletes in a 1 p.m. ceremony at TASTE in Albany, N.Y., one that will be followed by a basketball doubleheader featuring Siena's men's and women's teams at the Times Union Center at 4 p.m.

Katy Sturgis Robinson

Sturgis Robinson was a dominant low-post presence on both ends of the floor, and one of the premier players during Siena's pre-Division I era. She has held Siena's all-time record for blocked shots (139) for 29 years, and is sixth in career rebounds (785). Sturgis Robinson has a share of the program's single-game blocks record, being one three Saints to swat seven shots in a contest. She sits 11th on Siena's scoring chart with 1,294 career points, and her contributions helped lead Siena to 84 wins in her four seasons, including three NYSAIAW Division II Tournament Championships and a trio of EAIAW Tournament appearances.

Wysocki spent 16 seasons as Siena volleyball's head coach, compiling a 322-252 (.561) career record. He won four consecutive MAAC Championships from 1993 to 1996, and his teams won 21 games or more in nine different seasons. Wysocki's teams had a streak of 24 consecutive MAAC wins (including MAAC Tournament games) from 1993 to 1996, and he guided the Saints to the team's best-ever start by winning the first 11 games of the 1995 season, one that would end in the program's first-ever NCAA Tournament berth. Furthermore, Wysocki instilled a strong academic atmosphere as well, as his team won an American Volleyball Coaches Association team academic award in 1993, 1994 and 1995.

Dwayne Archbold

Archbold is currently eighth on Siena's all-time scoring charts with 1,644 points, and was a First Team All-MAAC selection in 2002. Also a second Team All-MAAC pick in 2001, and a member of the MAAC All-Rookie Team in 1999, he holds the MAAC Tournament single-season scoring record with 111 points, including 36 in a quarterfinal upset of Marist en route to helping Saints capture the title as a No. 7 seed in 2002. Archbold was that year's MAAC Tournament MVP, as well as the league's second-leading scorer at 19.9 points per game. His time in Loudonville was full of great moments, as he is one of only nine 1,000-point scorers to win 86 or more games in four seasons.

Gunta Basko

Basko sits third on Siena women's basketball's all-time scoring list with 1,833 points. A two-time Kodak District II All-America selection, two-time MAAC Player of the Year, and two-time All-MAAC First Team selection, Basko also won the MAAC Defensive Player of the Year award in 2001-02. She led Siena in scoring as a sophomore and junior, averaging 16.4 and 18.4 points per game, respectively. One of the program's best-ever all-around talents, Basko ranks in the top-10 in career rebounds (second, 1,027), steals (T-second, 265), blocks (second, 125), and 3-pointers (ninth, 121). She helped lead Siena to three MAAC regular-season titles, the 2001 NCAA Tournament, and the 2002 and 2003 WNIT.

Nicole Mayer

Mayer is tied for first in Siena women's tennis history with 42 career doubles victories, and tied for second in program history with 57 career singles victories. Her 99 combined victories are second all-time, and she is the only Saint to win 30 or more combined matches twice (won 32 in both 2001-02 and 2002-03). Mayer holds the single-season doubles record, with 15 doubles wins each in her junior and senior seasons. She also won 17 singles matches each of those years, tying for third twice on the all-time season singles win list. Also excellent in the classroom, Mayer was a Siena Women's Tennis Scholar in addition to her exploits on the court.

Liene Jansone

Jansone sits sixth on Siena's all-time scoring list with 1,639 points, and was the MAAC Rookie of the Year in 2000-01, Player of the Year and All-MAAC First Team selection in 2002-03, and a two-time All-MAAC Second Team selection in 2001-02 and 2003-04. She holds Siena's single-season and all-time records for field-goal percentage (60.5% in 2001-02, 59.1% for her career), led Siena with 17.2 points per game in 2002-03, and her 569 points that season are fourth all-time. She remains fourth in career rebounds (867), and holds two of the top nine single-season rebounding marks in Siena history (295 in 2002-03, 264 in 2000-01). Jansone helped lead the Saints to four MAAC regular-season championships, the 2001 NCAA Tournament, and the 2002 and 2003 WNIT. She set program NCAA standards with seven field goals and 16 points against Colorado in 2001.

Robert Bigley

One of the top Siena golfers in program history, Bigley helped lead the Saints to their second MAAC Championship in 2006, and played in that year's NCAA Central Regional. He won the 2005 George Washington and Binghamton Invitationals, and was a four-time All-MAAC selection. Bigley also excelled in the classroom, where he was a three-time MAAC All-Academic Team selection and a PING Cleveland Golf All-America Scholar in 2005.

Noel Cox

One of the top goalkeepers in Siena women's soccer history, Cox won MAAC Co-Defensive Player of the Year honors in 2004, and was a two-time All-MAAC First Team selection with a career record of 28-19-4. She tallied 294 saves in four years, with 19 shutouts and a .813 career save percentage. Cox finished three of her four seasons with goals-against averages under 1.0, and led Siena to a then-record 7-1-1 league mark as a senior. After graduation, Cox spent five seasons as an assistant coach, and her final one included Siena's first-ever trip to the NCAA Tournament in 2010.

John Lannan

Finally, Lannan is fourth all-time in wins (17) and strikeouts per nine innings (7.43), sixth in strikeouts (165), eighth in innings pitched (200), and 10th in strikeouts-to-walks (2.01). He is the only Siena pitcher to win 10 or more games in a season, having won 10 in 2005. Lannan also set the program's single-season records for strikeouts (83) and complete games (eight, tied with Ira Tilton) in 2005, and was drafted in the 11th round of the 2005 MLB Draft by the Washington Nationals. He has established himself as a stalwart in Washington's starting rotation, having won 38 games in just over four seasons with the club.

Additionally, 2010 honoree Todd Donovan '03 will be included in this year's ceremony. A three-time All-MAAC First Team selection and one of Siena baseball's best-ever players, he was unable to attend the most recent ceremony.

Tickets to the reception are available for $40, and can be purchased through the button link at the top of this page. Package deals featuring the reception and game tickets for that day's doubleheader are also available for $50 (children's ticket) and $60 (adult ticket). The women take on crosstown rival UAlbany at 4 p.m., while the men host MAAC rival Loyola (Md.) at 7 p.m.